Why Do You Hate God?

amy2x:

What’s your family think about your hate of God?

Evid3nc3:

I don’t hate God. You are confusing atheism with misotheism. In order to hate God, I would have to believe in God. I don’t hate things I don’t believe in. That would be as irrational as saying I hate Harry Potter just because I don’t believe he is real.

amy2x:

Ummm… if you are aggressively pushing Atheism (naturalism?) and secular humanism AFTER being a Christian; then for all intents and purposes: YES, YOU DO HATE GOD; seeing as you are doing everything you can to distance yourself from Him and get Him angry.

Evid3nc3:

Ummm… amy2x, if you are so aggressively pushing Monotheism (Yahwism?) and Christianity AFTER being exposed to Polytheism; then for all intents and purposes: YES, YOU DO HATE ZEUS; AND THOR; seeing as you are doing everything you can to distance yourself from Them and get Them angry.

31 comments on “Why Do You Hate God?

  1. Thinking Sapien says:

    I tried informing a responder to one of your videos (vekl) of the same thing, though it seemed my words fell on deaf ears.

    It seems that when ever one points out the cruelty that is illustrated in the bible the opposing side will some times take it as proof that the atheist really believes in God.

    It’s a very strange suspension of ones thinking abilities. I’m pretty sure that if I were to express that I thought Megatron wasn’t a very nice guy (robot) I don’t think the same person would accuse me of believeing in Megatron and hating him.

    • evid3nc3 says:

      lol. Great point.

    • Xalloran says:

      I think a lot of that comes from a poor ability to distinguish between criticism of a concept and criticism of an existent thing. This happens because the person in question so dearly believes that the concept does reference a truly existent thing that the former collapses into the latter.

      For example, it’s very possible to despise the concept of God inasmuch as it can be seen in many cases to pollute people’s minds, without believing that said concept is instantiated as an existent being. Some theists, however, believe so very hard that God must exist that the idea of separating out a conceptual God from the “real” thing doesn’t even enter their minds. Perhaps it seems a sort of blasphemy to them, on an almost subconscious level.

      • evid3nc3 says:

        I think you are dead-on. Exquisitely articulate analysis.

      • Well not that I’ve ever been in the position of believing in God with even a modecum of ernestness, but I imagine to these people it may be as odd as criticising (I’m sorry for the tired analogy) the sun.

        For one, OF COURSE it exists, I can FEEL it’s warmth, and I’m SURE it’s responsible (for its part) for life on earth, how else would we have just the right circumstances to produce life? Secondly if somebody gets skin cancer they may have brought it on themselves, don’t hate on the sun if it punishes you for not wearing protection.

        It’s hard for me to comprehend somebody conceptually criticisng the sun, and to somebody who has felt God and is certain he is the source of all life and everything else I can understand that confusion.

        However, the difference here is that the sun is self-evident and it isn’t reported to act with intent… at least according to most people. So I’m not sure how far I can really sympathize with theists on that count.

      • I started noticing the same phenomenon when I began to tell my former church peers that I was agnostic. I was in essence saying “I don’t believe in the tooth fairy anymore” and they were hearing “I don’t believe in President Obama.”

        A large part of our reality is what we perceive to be true. When someone is certain that God is as real as the president, it’s a complete non-sequitar to suggest otherwise. This was my own experience pre and post deconversion so I can testify that they won’t be able to remotely comprehend it unless a time comes when they too are able to entertain the idea that there may not be a God. In their minds God is as sure as gravity. That’s where smiling and nodding comes in handy. :)

    • Just regarding what Thinking Sapian said about cruelty in the bible; I once played a game called Black & White, by Lionhead Studios. You play a god. Long story short, when I was beneficent, my followers did nothing but make demands of me and do nothing for themselves, couldn’t even regulate their own society without my divine will. When I was wrathful (after snapping under the weight of demands), they grovelled and it only strengthened their belief in me, which I found to be despicably weak.

      I quit that game in disgust. If I were God, I’d love the godless more than anyone, they’d figure stuff out for themselves instead of bothering me all the time. I was maybe 14-15 when that occured to me, and it’s been one of the more memorable contributions to my outlook. Evid3nc3 presented a far more thoughtful and dignified path to invalidating intercessory prayer, but mine works for me.

      I’d never be so tactless as to actually use it in a conversation but I smirk and remind myself of this (kind of like imagining somebody in their underwear; takes some of the bite out of their inflamatory statements); my response to the “God hater” routine: I don’t hate God, I don’t think he’s real, but if he is, he might actually hate you.

      • LOL that’s awesome!

        You should definitely use that in conversation! There’s post in that: playing god made you an atheist… that’s just awesome.

        Also makes perfect sense; I’m with you in that if I were God, I’d respect the godless more, blind faith is a terrible thing.

  2. Meh. One of my pet peeves; and by that I don’t just mean that Christians seem to misunderstand where my distaste for their religion lies but also their inability to look at what they believe objectively.

    I think John Loftus is mostly right with his outsider test for faith; if you look at your own religious beliefs with the same scepticism you reserve for other people’s beliefs, they become very hard to justify.

    I don’t hate your god or any god. I do not hate troll’s or ogres or fairies. I do, however, feel differently about people who do foolish things in the name of a non-existent entity.

    • Cale says:

      Tried that very same thing with an aunt of mine. Her argument was that people were given their time on earth to find Jesus, and if they didn’t… oh well. I asked why they would want Jesus when they already had Muhammad, or Buddha. Her response was that they aren’t the right ones, and those people are just brainwashed. When I held my hands up expectingly, gesturing that she continue logically from that point, all I got was a blank stare. You know, I think I would have gotten further with a brick wall.

  3. Jonathan says:

    I had a similar conversation with a friend of mine.

    Friend: Why do you hate God?
    Me: Which one?
    Friend: There’s only one God.
    Me: Not if you’re a Hindu. But I don’t believe in any of those gods.
    Friend: I don’t believe in them either. They’re not the one true God.
    Me: So… do you hate them?
    Friend:

    I think there’s a lot of merit to the Socratic method.

  4. anonymous says:

    There are Christians out there who actually hate Zeus and Thor as they’re Satan’s avatars.

  5. Edelachtbare says:

    This is funny..

  6. marlo rocci says:

    I hate Harry Potter. I also don’t believe in him.

  7. Eulich says:

    I don’t really understand this mindset either. It would be like starting to hate santa claus once you stop believing in him. Sure the fat bastard isn’t around to give you presents any more, but he doesn’t exist, so there really isn’t anything to hate. Now hating the people who lie to you and spout lies as truth, well that is a different story.

  8. Adam Bruss says:

    I think the questioner is really asking why do you hate the concept of God.

    • evid3nc3 says:

      I don’t think so. Check her quote:

      YES, YOU DO HATE GOD; seeing as you are doing everything you can to distance yourself from Him and get Him angry.

      Concepts don’t get angry.

      • Othniel says:

        If you don’t hate GOD but hate the concept of GOD or the belief of GOD, then that makes you a misotheist. Miso means “hate” or “dislike” and theism means “belief in GOD”.

        • evid3nc3 says:

          Hate is an emotion that I haven’t felt in years, Othniel. And I’ve never felt it toward God or the concept of God. So labeling me as hating anything is simply inaccurate.

  9. darthelghast says:

    I’d hate God if he existed.

    Any moral person would.

    • I agree! Hating a being who would enforce eternal torture isn’t hard or surprising.

      All I can say is, thank God there is no God.

    • Jonathan says:

      I don’t know… the idea of god is incredibly plastic. There are some god concepts, even among Christians, that don’t include eternal torment. I don’t see any reason to prefer one god concept over another. If the god of some of those god concepts did exist, the world would undoubtedly be a better place. However, as it stands, the hand of God looks identical to the probabilistic outcomes of random processes.

      Anyway, I think it’s kind of ironic and a little funny that there’s more convergence for ideas about unicorns than there is for gods.

      • Unicorns are more awesome. Fact.

      • Cale says:

        I don’t think it’s ironic, it actually makes perfect sense. Regardless, I’m totally using that point, that is hilarious.

      • Jonathan, regarding your statement “I don’t see any reason to prefer one god concept over another.” There *is* one reason: the date and location of one’s birth. When and where a person happens to be born is the single most reliable predictor of his religious belief. It’s also one of the strongest pieces of evid3nc3, in my analysis, that none of the deities humans worship are real.

        (I’m not disagreeing with you, just chipping in my two cents.)

      • Jonathan says:

        ha! That’s very true, Suzanne. I was pointing out that there’s no reason for me, an unbeliever, to prefer one concept over another. However, thinking about it now, I do have a pretty strong preference for some god concepts over others. I much prefer the gods whose followers don’t want to kill or harm me, or limit my freedom. So, I supposed I was wrong. :)

  10. Whenever I see this argument, I always remember the NonStampCollector video about Voltron. I recommend anyone check it out if they haven’t seen it already (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnbXlkNavwo).

  11. Rafe says:

    Hey buddy…I just want to say that I appreciate your work. As a pseudo-Christian, I tend to align myself more closely with Marcus Borg. I see scripture as the human response to God and not God dictating holy writings. We really need to stop blaming God for the things we do individually and culturally.

    I also agree with Paul Toscano, an excommunicated Mormon, that perhaps faith is to give God the benefit of the doubt.

    Because I no longer identify with the institutional church and concepts of orthodoxy and tradition have little to no meaning to me, I am considered a ‘hater’ as well.

    I’m also working toward a degree in Biblical studies and concentrating on redaction criticism. As I have studied, I have distanced myself from the pious and narcissistic traditional Christian mindset. Religious elitism and the arrogance of certainty are, IMO, the enemy of Faith and God.

  12. Charles Allen of South Africa says:

    There is a very good reason why I hate God, and that reason is, that He reminds me of my alcoholic father who continuously abused and misused me as a child. In 1988 after searching for answers and making every effort to set the wounded child within me free, I called out to God for help believing in His promises He gives in His Word, the Bible.
    But! Until this very day, all I have received is heart ache and suffering through all of my prayers to God. Instead of setting the wounded child within free, it is continuously haunted and tormented by the ghosts of the past. My alcoholic father always kept all the food locked up, preventing me from eating when I was hungry. There were times that he would force me to eat worm infested food, and would lock me up in the garage during the day for not less than 3 hours at a time. While locked up, I always used to sing my own little song; “I am nobody’s child, yes I am nobody’s child, no one want’s me and there is no one who cares….”
    With old wounds torn open by the ghosts of the past, God also keeps His storehouse of blessings locked up from me, and He keeps me locked up in the horrible world of my past, just to show me the exact patterns of my abusive father when I was a child.
    The reality of this is, when I was 7 years of age, one night I saw 2 white images like that men, and they were walking away from me. With great fear of what I saw, made me hide under the kitchen table. That very same night, I had a very bad dream, that actually woke me up crying and screaming for help. In the dream I was trapped in a small room filled with all types of large and small snakes. The small room had a sealed door with no door handle, and the only light was coming through a small narrow window right up in the one corner of the room. I was standing in the centre of the room amongst all these snakes,and while they were attacking me I was crying out for someone to come and set me free from this horrible room, but no one came.
    This dream is like a memory stick in my life that cannot be erased, and it portrays my whole life until this day. With all of my unanswered prayers, all I ever wanted and asked for, is love, compassion, understanding and care. But the more I prayed, the more the ghosts of my past haunted and tormented me, and still are. The wounded child within is being continuously poisoned by the snakes in the dream. For good, God gives me bad, for love, God gives me hate, for blessings, God gives me curses, and for friends, God gives me enemies, just like my alcoholic abusive father did.
    Trapped in the world of my past amongst the many snakes, I still sing my song; “I am nobody’s child, yes I am nobody’s child, no one wants me and no one really cares….”
    I am planning to write a book which will be titled; “The Captured Child Within,” hoping to find someone who will assist me with this in every possible way.
    Charles Allen
    South Africa

Leave a Reply

